orre beach - in the waterphotographer marie von krogh
Photo: Marie Von Krogh

No Blue, no Green - seminar with Dr. Sylvia Earle, the winner of the Rachel Carson Prize.


On October 4th, IRIS and UIS arranged a joint seminar entitled "No Blue, No Green. The seminar was concluded with a poignant presentation from Dr Sylvia Earle concerning man-made challenges facing our oceans today.

The legendary American marine biologist Sylvia Earle was awarded the Norwegian Rachel Carson Prize 2017 on October 4th.  Dr Earle was awarded the prize for her groundbreaking work as oceanographer, explorer, author and lecturer.  

The Norwegian Rachel Carson Prize is an international environmental award presented in Stavanger every second year. The prize is awarded to a woman who has made a significant contribution to our physical habitat nationally or internationally. Sylvia Earle has a deep commitment to the marine environment and has been at the forefront of research of the vast oceans depths for more than 40 years.

Sylvia Earle  has been given the nickname “Her Deepness” by The New Yorker, “Living Legend” of the Library of Congress and “Hero for the Planet” of Time Magazine. Sylvia Earle has led more than 100 expeditions and clocked more than 7,000 hours underwater. She was captain of the first fully female team to live under water in 1970, and with her research colleagues received a reception at the White House. In 1979 she did a deeper solo dive than any other woman before or since. In the 1980s, she started Deep Ocean Engineering and Deep Ocean Technologies to design subsea vessels for previously unavailable depths.

In the early 1990s Sylvia Earle  worked as Chief Scientist at the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration. Few people have done more to create engagement, strengthen research and knowledge, and contribute to a better marine environment than Sylvia Earle. She won the TED-talk award in 2009 and fights relentlessly to ensure that marine conservation areas cover 20 % of the world’s ocean by 2020.

The board of the Rachel Carson prize has applied  for the area along the Jæren coastline to become a "Hope Spot",  an area with special qualities and important for international ocean conservation efforts. This application was presented as a gift to Sylvia Earle, who leads Mission Blue, the organization that creates "Hope spots". You can read more here www.mission-blue.org.  
IRIS Environment has been a close supporter of the prize over many years. This year Alessio Gomiero, Elisa Ravagnan and Megan Brunswig Sikaneta contributed with a "science stand" during and activity day at Orre Beach, the event was attended by Minister of Climate and Environment Vidar Helgesen. On the 4th of October, the Rachel Carson Prize,  IRIS and UIS arranged a joint seminar entitled "No Blue, No Green", here IRIS scientists Renée Bechmann, Thierry Baussant, Elisa Ravagnan and Steinar Sanni (IRIS/UIS) gave presentations, together with Roald Kommedal (UIS) and Elsa Dybkjær (Rambøll). The seminar was concluded with a poignant presentation from Dr Sylvia Earle concerning man-made challenges facing our oceans today.
Prize committee of 2017: Fiona Provan (Senior Researcher at IRIS), Bente Bakke (Politician for the Green Party) and Nina Jensen (Secretary General WWF). Board of Directors of the Rachel Carson Prize: Heather Bergsland, Anne Elisabeth Carlsen, Anne Tone Nag Fjermestad, Bodil Lande, Torunn Larsen, Ingjerd H. Haarstad and Eline Vigre.


IRIS-studien alene viser ikke om hydrogenperoksid skader reker i sjøen
Read more

Generasjonsskifte i oljenæringen vil gi behov for nyansettelser i tiden fremover
Read more

Kurset i Helse, miljø og sikkerhet (HMS) ikke optimalt for bønder
Read more

Hilmar Rommetvedt valgt til styret i IPSA
Read more

DrillWell Annual Seminar 2018 - Open for Registration
Read more

Read more

Hillevåg – en sosiokulturell stedsanalyse
Read more

Unges inntreden i arbeidslivet – en ressurs eller risiko?
Read more

Jærkysten anerkjent som internasjonal "Hope Spot"
Read more

Studied atmospheric circulation on Mars
Read more

Go to news archive